Cocaine Law in Texas
A dangerous and powerful drug, cocaine is illegal in all 50 states. If you or someone in your family is facing a cocaine charge in Texas, it’s important to speak with an experienced criminal lawyer as soon as possible
Penalties for Cocaine Possession
In Texas, the penalties for cocaine-related charges depend on the quantity of the drug and whether or not the defendant is charged with possession, sale or manufacturing. For possession of cocaine, Texas Health and Safety Code 481.115 outlines potential penalties.
- Less than one gram: State Jail Felony, punishable by six months to two years in prison
- Between one and four grams: Third degree felony
- Between four and 200 grams: Second degree felony
- Between 200- and 400 grams: First degree felony
- Over 400 grams: 10 to 99 years in prison, up to a $100,000 fine
Penalties for Sale of Cocaine
For a sale or trafficking charge, the penalties also depend on the quantity of cocaine. The fines may be higher if the sale was to a minor or the transaction occurred within a drug-free zone. This also includes “constructive delivery,” or a situation where one person left cocaine in a spot for another to pick up.
- Less than one gram: State Jail Felony
- Between one and four grams: Second degree felony
- Between 4 and 200 grams: First degree felony
- Between 200 and 400 grams: 10 to 99 years in prison and fines up to $100,000
- Over 400 grams: 15 to 99 years or life in prison and fines up to $100,000.
Texas law also punishes those convicted of manufacturing cocaine. The punishment for manufacturing is also determined by the amount of cocaine involved.