Methamphetamine Laws in Texas
Texas is experiencing a rapid increase in the use of methamphetamine and crimes related to the drug. Also known as crystal meth, speed or ice, methamphetamine is particularly dangerous because it is highly addictive and can be manufactured by using over-the-counter medicine.
As a result, the state of Texas aggressively prosecutes those charged with possession, sale and trafficking of methamphetamine. You can also be arrested for transporting chemicals with the intent to manufacture crystal meth.
Penalties for Possession of Methamphetamine
Penalties for a meth-related conviction depend on the amount of methamphetamine and the specific crime. According to Penalty 1 under the Texas and Health Safety Code, the penalties for possession begin with any amount under one gram. Here’s a breakdown of potential repercussions of a conviction of possession:
- Less than 1 gram: State jail felony. Maximum 2 years in county jail and a fine of up to $10,000.
- 1 to 4 grams: Third-degree felony. Maximum 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
- 4 to 200 grams: Second-degree felony. Up to 20 years in prison and maximum fine of $10,000.
- 200 to 400 grams: First-degree felony. Up to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $10, 000.
- Over 400 grams. Enhanced first-degree felony. 10 to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000.
Penalties for Intent to Sell Methamphetamine
If someone is charged with intent to deliver, or “intent to sell,” that’s considered manufacturing by the state of Texas. It includes delivering, or possessing methamphetamine with intent to sell it. Possible penalties vary based on the amount of methamphetamine involved.
- Less than 1 gram: State jail felony. Up to 2 years in county jail and a maximum $10,000 fine.
- 1 to 4 grams: Third-degree felony. Up to 10 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine.
- 4 to 200 grams: Second-degree felony. Maximum 20 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.
- 200 to 400 grams: First-degree felony. Up to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
- Over 400 grams. Enhanced first-degree felony. 15 to 99 years or life in prison and a maximum fine of $250,000.
Additional Illegal Activities Including Methamphetamine
It is possible to be arrested for transporting chemicals or materials with the intent of manufacturing methamphetamine. This could include anhydrous ammonia, lithium metal from a battery, or over 300 tablets or capsules of ephedrine or pseudoephedrine. It could include a combination of these substances with equipment used for manufacturing or storing meth.
A defendant accused of transporting supplies with the intent to manufacture meth faces a second-degree felony with a sentence of up to 20 years prison and a fine up to $10,000.
I’ve Just Been Arrested for Meth – What Do I Do?
If you or a loved one is facing a meth charge, you should contact a criminal lawyer immediately.
Attorney Ken Gibson has experience fighting methamphetamine charges in court. He will thoroughly examine all of the facts in your case to determine the most aggressive and effective strategy for the best possible outcome.
Contact the Law Offices of Ken Gibson today to schedule a free review of your case.