DWI Third or Subsequent Offense
If you are arrested and charged with DWI in Texas and already have two or more prior driving while intoxicated offenses on your record, you will be facing a felony offense. This means that if you are convicted, the potential consequences are very serious and can have far-reaching impacts on your life.
In some states, a previous drunk driving charge can only be used to enhance a current charge if it occurred within a certain window of time—say, 10 years. However, in Texas there is no look-back period. This means that if you have had two or more DWI convictions in your lifetime, the third or subsequent offense will be charged as a third degree felony.
If found guilty of third degree felony DWI, you could face the following penalties:
- Between two and 10 years in a state penitentiary
- A fine of up to $10,000
- License suspension of up to two years
- Up to 200 hours of court-ordered community service
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
- Mandatory attendance of an approved alcohol/drug education course
- Treatment for alcohol or drug dependency at your own expense
Additionally, you will pay thousands of dollars in court fees, administrative fees and annual surcharges on your license.
Defending a DWI Charge
Many people think that DWI charges are unbeatable and that they are better off pleading guilty. Remember: a felony conviction on your record can cost you more than just the penalties listed above; it can also limit your eligibility for housing, certain jobs, loans and educational opportunities.
Before you plead guilty to a third or subsequent DWI charge and become a convicted felon, call our office to schedule a free consultation.